to top 10 table

Best Hot Water Bottles Reviewed

last updated Dec 03, 2019

Every medicine cabinet needs to have a few staples lined up and ready to go - bandages, numbing cream, rubbing alcohol and hot water bottles. They can be used in a myriad of ways for all of your aches and pains inside and out.

Whether you hit the ground hard when sparring with a partner, or your stomach is upset from going a little overboard on your cheat day, a good hot water bottle can help soothe your troubles. Plus, it is the perfect thing to take with you on the go when you need a little bit of relief.

In this guide, we have selected some of our favorite brands and styles of hot water bottles to help soothe your tired bones no matter where you are!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 8 hrs of research

icon
Attmu
96/100 our score
Materials
94
Use
98
Features
96
Effectiveness
97
Size
95
Attmu
Why is it better?

Quality plastic

Leak-proof

Sweater included

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Attmu
Test Winner: Attmu
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
2
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
890
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
8
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Use Features Effectiveness Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Materials
94 %
Use
98 %
Features
96 %
Effectiveness
97 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Materials
95 %
Use
93 %
Features
96 %
Effectiveness
94 %
Size
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Materials
96 %
Use
95 %
Features
94 %
Effectiveness
92 %
Size
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Materials
90 %
Use
92 %
Features
89 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Size
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
Materials
87 %
Use
89 %
Features
85 %
Effectiveness
86 %
Size
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$10.79
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Materials
85 %
Use
82 %
Features
84 %
Effectiveness
83 %
Size
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$9.98
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Materials
80 %
Use
78 %
Features
84 %
Effectiveness
82 %
Size
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Materials
78 %
Use
79 %
Features
76 %
Effectiveness
81 %
Size
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
Materials
75 %
Use
73 %
Features
74 %
Effectiveness
76 %
Size
72 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.8
Materials
70 %
Use
72 %
Features
68 %
Effectiveness
71 %
Size
68 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (07.12.19)
Amazon Link
$9.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Attmu

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Attmu-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Attmu-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Attmu-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Use
98
Features
96
Effectiveness
97
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99
Pros:

Quality plastic

Leak-proof

Sweater included

Cons:

Hard to fill

The reason that we selected this design from Attmu for the top of our list is that it has all of the functions one would want from hot water bottles. It is made from quality materials that hold up well over time, and hold in heat for longer than most. Plus, it comes in a ton of fun color options as well.

Read more

What we liked most about this design is that it uses a clear plastic that makes it easier to tell just how full the bottle is. It has a wide mouth that makes filling it with hot water super easy, and a stopper that keeps it from leaking when you apply pressure to the bag. It can keep hot water warm for up to 5 hours (with the 5-hour mark being significantly cooler than the 1-hour mark).

Each 2-liter pouch also comes with a soft cable knit sweater to make it feel nice against your skin and limit direct exposure to the hot plastic bottle. This bottle is also offered in a wide variety of colors with matching cable knit sweaters to match each and every color.

If you are in the market for something that is made from high-quality plastic that does a great job of holding in heat, this is one of your best options. It is made from high-quality materials, comes in a variety of colors, and comes with a sharp cable knit sweater that feels great against your skin.

2. Fashy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Fashy-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Use
93
Features
96
Effectiveness
94
Size
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.95
Pros:

Easy to fill

Crosshatched design

Cons:

Very stiff plastic

What we liked most about this bottle from Fashy is that it is made from high-quality materials that you can feel good about using. While many other plastic or rubber designs come with an unpleasant odor, this option is odor-free and holds in heat (of cold) for an incredibly long time!

Read more

Fashy uses the top of the line thermoplastics currently out there on the market. The use of this type of material is incredibly durable and holds in hot water for much longer than lower quality plastic materials. The outside sports a cross-hatched design which keeps it hotter for longer.

Another thing that users love about this design is that it is incredibly easy to fill. It has a mouth that is just a little bit wider than most. Plus, it sports a filling loop along the side where you can slip your fingers to prevent burns when you are filling it with hot water. The stopper at the end keeps it from leaking as well.

For those in the market for something that is made from quality materials that do not smell or leak, this is a great option. What we loved most about this option is that it is incredibly safe and easy to fill, and holds in heat for hours at a time.

3. HomeTop Premium

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
HomeTop-Premium-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
HomeTop-Premium-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
HomeTop-Premium-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
96
Use
95
Features
94
Effectiveness
92
Size
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Pliable shell

Easy to fill

Soft fleece cover

Cons:

Strong rubber odor

This option from HomeTop is made from materials that are just a little bit different from other plastic designs out there on the market. What users love most about this design is that is it flexible, easy to fill and keeps water hot for longer periods of time. Plus, it comes with stylish accessories that serve to protect your skin.

Read more

Instead of being made from thermoplastic, this design is made from a thick and pliable natural rubber material. What users love about plastic bottles is that they are incredibly pliable which means that they form easier to the shape of your skin for better heat delivery. Plus, it does a really great job of holding in heat as well.

Another thing that we loved about this option is that it comes with a stylish sweater that you can use to protect your skin when it comes into contact with the very hot bottle. This sweater is purple with white polka dots, and it is composed of a super soft fleece-like material.

If you are in the market for something that is composed of quality materials that hold up well over time, this is a really great option. Users love that it is very easy to fill, and comes with a super soft fleece cover that feels great against your skin.

4. Arctic Flex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Arctic-Flex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Arctic-Flex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Arctic-Flex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Use
92
Features
89
Effectiveness
93
Size
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Color options

Cableknit sweater

Easy to fill

Cons:

Plastic odor

Minimal heat retention

If you want something that is quite easy to use, this is one of your better options. What we liked most about the Arctic Flex is that it is made from quality materials, and it is incredibly easy to fill. Plus, it comes with accessories to help protect your skin from burns.

Read more

This bottle is made from thick plastic materials that are incredibly pliable. One of the downsides of this thick and durable rubber is that it has a very potent rubber smell when filling it up with hot water. The plastic shell has indicator marks right on the bottle to indicate how full you need to fill it.

Another thing that we liked about this option is that it comes with a sweater that helps protect your skin from getting burned. It is offered in three different colors, and each color comes with a corresponding cable knit sweater with a thick turtleneck. This sweater is a great way to keep your skin comfortable without getting burned when you get the water a little too hot.

For those in the market for something that is easy to use and easy to fill, this is a great option. It has indicators along the side of the bottle to ensure that you never accidentally overfill it, and it comes in a few fun colors with matching sweaters.

5. All One Tech

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.2
All-One-Tech-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
All-One-Tech-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
All-One-Tech-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
87
Use
89
Features
85
Effectiveness
86
Size
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.79
Pros:

Easy to fill

Sweater included

Cons:

Plastic odor

Small pouch

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this design from All One Tech. It is made from high-quality materials that hold up well over time, and hold in the heat quite well. Plus, it comes with accessories that help keep your skin from getting burned when initially placed on your skin.

Read more

This design can hold up to 2 liters of water at a time. It sports a wide mouth that makes it a cinch to full up with water while minimizing the risk of burning your hands. The plastic material is made from plastic that is able to be recycled, and it is transparent which makes filling it up with enough water a little easier to judge. The crosshatched design in the material also means that it holds on to heat for longer periods of time.

Users love the color-coordinated cable knit turtleneck that is included with purchase. Color options that are offered include blue, purple, and pink. The hard plastic stopper at the end of the bottle is easy to affix into place, and it will not leak even when you apply pressure to your bottle.

If you are in the market for something that is simple and easy to use, this is one of your better options. It comes in a variety of bright color options that also comes with a matching cable knit sweater to protect your skin from an incredibly hot bottle.

6. Carex

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84
Carex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Carex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Carex-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
85
Use
82
Features
84
Effectiveness
83
Size
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.98
Pros:

Soft fleece cover

Easy to fill

Wide frame

Cons:

Very stiff

The thing that we liked most about this design from Carex is that it is made from quality materials that hold up well over time. While it still holds 2 liters like all of the other options out there on the market, the frame is a little wider than most to cover more surface area on your body.

Read more

The plastic pouch is slightly see-through which makes it a little bit easier to fill to the proper level. Plus, it boasts a very wide neck which allows you to fill it with hot water while reducing the risk of burning your fingers as you fill it. It also has a threaded plastic stopper that stays in place even when you apply pressure to the outside.

While most designs come with a cable knit sweater, this design does things just a little bit differently. It comes with a royal blue fleece cover to help protect your skin. What we loved most about this fleece cover is that it has an elastic neck which makes it just a little bit easier to take on and off.

For those in the market for something that is a bit wider than most, this is an excellent choice. Users love the very soft fleece cover that is included that is incredibly easy to pull on and off as needed.

7. Xboun

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.4
Xboun-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Xboun-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Xboun-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Use
78
Features
84
Effectiveness
82
Size
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Microwavable

Easy to fill

Pliable materials

Cons:

Very small

Most designs out there on the market are made from similar materials that have subtle design differences that make them stand out from the pack. What we love about this design from Xboun is that it is made from a completely different material that is a lot more durable than thermoplastic or even rubber.

Read more

What makes these hot water bottles from Xboun stand out from the rest is that they are composed of food-grade silica gel. This material is incredibly soft and pliable and holds on to heat quite well. Unlike all of the other designs out there on the market, you can actually heat this design up in the microwave!

This option also has an incredibly wide neck that catches any water that doesn’t make it into the spout without burning your hands. It comes with a thinner knit jacket that creates a soft barrier between you and your skin to prevent your skin from getting burned when the exterior gets too hot.

If you want something that you can heat up quickly in the microwave, this is one of your best options. It is composed of high-quality materials that hold up well over time, and it is easy to fill as well as use.

8. Rukaza

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Rukaza-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Rukaza-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Rukaza-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
78
Use
79
Features
76
Effectiveness
81
Size
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99
Pros:

Easy to fill

Microwaveable

Slender frame option

Cons:

Very small

What we liked about this design from Rukaza is that it is made from versatile and high-quality materials that hold up quite well over time. It also is great at retaining heat for hours at a time. It is easy to fill and comes in a few different designs for different parts of your body.

Read more

What makes this option stand out from the rest is that it comes in a few different sizes. While most have the standard rectangular shape, Rukaza also offers a long rectangular shape for smaller parts of your body that need a little heat concentration. Plus, it comes with a matching sweater that helps protect your skin from burning.

Another thing that we really liked about this design is that it is composed of pliable silica gel. By using silica gel, it means that you have the option of sticking a full bottle in the microwave to heat it up quickly without the use of a tea kettle. It also boasts a wide spout so that you can fill it without burning your hands.

For those in the market for something that is easy to quickly heat up and is made from quality materials, this is one of your better options. It is easy to fill up and retains heat for up to 3 hours after it is filled.

9. SteadMax

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
74
SteadMax-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
75
Use
73
Features
74
Effectiveness
76
Size
72
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99
Pros:

Easy to fill

Textured outside shell

Wide design

Cons:

No cover included

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this option from SteadMax. It is made from textured and high-quality materials that are easy to use and easy to fill. It is just a little big larger than other options out there on the market, which means it covers more surface area of your skin.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this design is that it is constructed from a rubber material that is incredibly thick and durable. The outside shell is ribbed which makes it safer to put directly onto your skin when the bottle is incredibly warm.

The downside to this option is that it doesn’t come with a knit cover unlike some of the other designs out there on the market. However, since it is made from a quality rubber that has a textured surface, you may find that you don’t even need the use of a piece of fabric between the bottle and your skin.

If you are in the market for something that is made from quality materials that hold up quite well over time, this is a great option. This incredibly simple design may not have all of the bells and whistles over some of the other options out there on the market, but it will hold up very well over time.

10. Samply

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
69.8
Samply-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Samply-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Samply-best-hot-water-bottles-reviewed
Amazon Link
Materials
70
Use
72
Features
68
Effectiveness
71
Size
68
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.99
Pros:

Easy to fill

Many colors

Comfortable cover

Cons:

Mild heat retention

If design and function is something that is important to you, you may want to check out this option from Samply. There are simple design features such as a clear bottle, many color options and unique covers that make these hot water bottles stand out from the rest.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this bottle is that it has a clear outside shell. This feature makes it easy to fill up with water without worrying about overfilling because you cannot see the contents. It comes in a wide variety of fun color options that include shades such as blue, pink, green, and gray.

Another thing that we really liked about this design is that it comes with unique covers that are made from materials that are a little different from the norm. While most use simple cable knit, these covers are composed of super soft fleece material. This material not only protects your skin from burns, but it also feels great when placed against your skin.

If you are on the market for something that is easy to use and comes in a lot of unique colors and design options, you may want to check out this option from Samply.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

One of the very first things that we looked at when considering each and every option for our list was the materials used.

There are a few different materials used by different companies that have their advantages and disadvantages. Below, we have gone into detail about the benefits of the three different material options available.

Thermoplastic: This material is one of the most popular options currently out there on the market. Users love that they are often partially transparent that allows you to see just how much water is in the bottle. It is also incredibly flexible which allows you to shape it to the curvature of your body.

One of the downsides to this type of plastic is that it is just a little less resilient over some of the other options out there on the market. If you do not take proper care to dry it completely or store it away from sunlight, it is more prone to leaks.

Rubber: Rubber of the OG of these types of bottles. The original water bottle was invented in 1903 and was made from rubber. What makes rubber great is that it is incredibly resilient, pliable, and less resistant to leaks. Plus, it feels comfortable when placed against your skin.

The downside to rubber is that it also comes with that patented rubber smell. When the material gets warm, the smell only intensifies. If you hate the smell of rubber, you may want to opt for a different material. Another downside of rubber is that it isn’t transparent, so it is difficult to judge how full it is.

Silica Gel: A up and comping material that users like is the use of food-grade silica gel. This material is incredibly thick and soft to the touch. It’s number one characteristic that makes it stand out from the pack is that it is the only material that you can place in the microwave to heat the water.

However, this material isn’t transparent, which means that it will be difficult to judge just how full it is. This thicker material isn’t as pliable as rubber or plastic, which means you may have a little trouble getting it to reach those troubled areas such as your knees.

Use

We wanted to make sure that we selected designs that were easy to use.

When dealing with hot water, the last thing that you want to contend with burning your hands. There are a few key design features that can help ensure that your hands will not get burned.

The first thing to look at is the width of the nozzle. If a unit had a narrow nozzle, we would typically move on to another brand. Nozzles that take the shape of a funnel make it easier to pour without spilling. We also liked nozzles that provide a spill trap to prevent water from reaching your hands.

We also liked brands that included a loop along the side that keeps your hands away from the nozzle altogether. Loops help keep your hands safe, but they have a tendency to be a little cumbersome to use.

It is important to note that when filling these bottles, the water should never be boiling. Not only is it dangerous to work with boiling water, but it also stresses the materials used for the bottles- especially those constructed from thermoplastic.

We suggest using the tea kettle on your stove to craft the perfect temperature of the water. Simply place the water in a tea kettle and wait for the slightest whistle. When it starts to whistle, it means that it is hot enough for tea, but it isn’t boiling.

Features

A few key features can make the most simple designs stand out from the pack.

We wanted to go into a little bit of detail about extra features to help protect your skin as well as keep you comfortable.

The most important feature that we found with most designs is a cover that is included. Sometimes, when placing these products directly against the skin, you run this risk of minor burns. To prevent burning, we suggest that you select designs that come with covers that are easy to slip on and off.

Some of our favorite sleeves come in a wide variety of colors and styles. The most popular style is the cable knit turtleneck that looks like a real sweater. This design keeps the hot material from pressing up against your skin, but it isn’t too tightly knit that is prevents the heat from traveling to your skin.

If you want something that is a little softer and buffers the source of the heat, we suggest selecting a cover that is made from fleece. What users love most about fleece options is that it helps keep the water warmer for longer periods of time because it is more insulating than your traditional knits.

Another key feature lies in the design of the stopper. We wanted to select design that used a threaded stopped to ensure that it stays firmly in place and will not leak. While in use, you will be placing pressure on the bottle and the last thing that you want it a leaky stopper! By utilizing a threaded stopper, there is a minimal risk that any water will leak out of the top.

Effectiveness

At the end of the day, you just want something that works.

In the case of these products, that means selecting a bottle the effectively delivers heat to your muscles, as well as retains heat without cooling down too quickly.

There are a few things to take into consideration to ensure that it will not lose heat. The first thing that we looked at is whether or not it came with a knitted cover. Not only does a cover help protect your skin, but it also helps to retain heat as well. When you step outside in the winter wearing a thick wool sweater, you are less likely to lose heat. This same principle can be applied to covers for these bottles. We wanted to make sure that we included products that included some type of garment for your bottle to not only hold in the heat but protect your skin as well.

We also combed through hundreds of user reviews to find those that really stood out from the pack. Users are the very first to report if a design lost heat a little too quickly. If we found that there was an overwhelming number of users that felt that their product lost heat a little too quickly. If the was the case, we would move on to the next product.

We wanted to make sure that we selected products that could retain heat for at least 1 hour after filling it up. On the lower end of the spectrum, most products that did not use a cover would hold heat for up to an hour. Other options that used covers could stay hot for up to 3-4 hours!

Size

When it comes to soothing tired muscles, size is important.

All of the standards sizes out there on the market hold on average about 2 liters of water. However, that doesn’t mean that all of the styles out there on the market are the same size.

On the larger end of the spectrum, there are designs that measure to be about 12 inches long and about 10 inches wide. For those that intend on using these products on larger areas of your body such as your back or stomach, larger designs may be better suited for your needs.

If you need something that works for smaller areas of your body such as your knees, arms, or feet, a smaller option may work better for your. If you intend on using these products on smaller and boney areas of your body such as your knees, be sure that you select a material that is more pliable than thicker designs such as those made from silica gel.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Benefits Of Heat Therapy

Heat therapy is one of your best tools to help combat chronic pain. By placing something warm on your tired and affected muscles, it promotes the circulation of blood to your muscles to help soothe and repair muscles. When you are pushing your body to its limits at the gym, sore muscles are soon to follow. While sore muscles are a basic fact of life, using heat therapy to mitigate pain is incredibly helpful and will benefit your workouts in the long run!

History Of The Hot Water Bottle

The original design of the hot water bottle was patented in 1903 and was made from materials such as rubber and PVC and filled with hot water. However, earlier designs date back to the 16th century and did things a little differently. Instead of filling a container with water, they filled containers with hot coal embers! Luckily we have moved past the use of hot coals, and flexible hot water bottles are far more comfortable as well as portable!

Alternate Hot and Cold

If you hade a pretty brutal day of training and your muscles are aching, the best course of action is to alternate between hot and cold therapy. We suggest using one of these products to warm the affected area for 30 minutes, and then switch to an ice pack for 30 minutes. By switching from hot to cold, you can help heal strained muscles to get you back in the gym faster!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

If you can’t soak in a hot tub, sometimes you need to bring the tub to you! The beauty of using hot water bottles is that they can soothe tired muscles or stomachaches in an all-natural way when you don’t have time to soak in the tub. Sure, popping an aspirin or applying a good numbing cream can help with pain, but nothing compares to applying heat to the area the is troubling you!

Every bathroom cabinet needs to be stocked with a great hot water bottle for those days that your body gets beat up a little bit when training or just while at work. Plus, it can also be filled with cold water to ice those tired muscles and joints as well!.

If you are at home or traveling, keeping such a simple device close at hand means that you will never need to suffer from sore and tired muscles. Plus, they can also be used to soothe upset stomachs and tame killer headaches in an all-natural way.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Why do I need a hot water bottle?

a:

Sometimes, all your body needs is a long soak in a hot tub. There is nothing better than warm water penetrating your overworked and tired muscles. However, we often do not have the time to set aside for a long soak in a tub. In those cases, it is important to be able to bring the tub to you!

That’s why keeping a hot water bottle stashed in your medicine cabinet is a great idea. If you had a long day of training at the gym and need to soothe your tired muscles, popping a hot water bottle on the affected area is a great way to naturally soothe what’s troubling you.

q: Are they easy to fill?

a:

Yes, the styles that we selected for our list are fairly easy to fill. The wider the spout on the top of the bottle means the easier it will we to fill. We liked designs that offer a super wide funnel or a trap to catch the water that spills over the edge.

It is important to take into consideration that you are pouring hot water into the spout- so it is important that it doesn’t spill! Be sure that you select a design that comes with additional features to help protect your hands when you are filling it up.

Spills can sometimes happen, and that’s perfectly normal. When you go to fill up your bottle, we suggest placing the bottle over the bathtub or the sink in case there are any spills.

q: How should I heat the water?

a:

To ensure that you do not burn yourself or damage the bottle, it is important that you do not use boiling water! Boiling water will not only burn your hands when working with it, but it could also actually damage your bottle.

So, how exactly do you know the right temperature of water to use? We suggest using a tea kettle to get the best temperature. When you make a cup of tea, your water is hot but not boiling, and this same principle applies to hot water bottles.

When you put your water on the stove, be sure to remove the water from the heat the moment that tea kettle starts to whistle. If you want any longer, your water will start to boil.

q: How do I clean them?

a:

I can prove to be a little difficult to prevent the inside of your bottle from smelling a little state. You can try to completely dry out the inside before stashing it away, but it will eventually start to smell a little state. While there is no way to avoid this fate, there is a way to combat the smell.

If you find that the inside of your bottle is starting to smell a little on the stale side, we suggest giving it a good cleaning. To do so, hydrogen peroxide is the way to go. Simply fill the bag with warm water and ¼ cup hydrogen peroxide. Shake it for about 30-60 seconds to ensure that it mixes completely. When you are done, empty it down the drain. Then, fill it with cool water, shake, and discard in down the drain.

q: How should I store them when not in use?

a:

Getting all of the water out of the bottle before tucking it away in storage is important, but it is pretty difficult. When you are finished using it, be sure to try and dump all of the water that you can down the drain. We suggest hanging it up with the nozzle pointing downwards to drip all excess water out of the bottle.

To make sure that the plastic and rubber do not become brittle over time, it is important that you store them in a cool dry place that is away from direct sunlight. Once it is completely dry, the best place to store them in lying completely flat in your medicine cabinet or linen closet.

q: Can they be used for anything else?

a:

Absolutely! While many users use them to soothe tired muscles, they can also come in handy in a myriad of other ways. Many users love to place hot water bottles on their stomach when experiencing cramps or a simple upset stomach from overindulging.

While they are designed for hot water, you can also pour ice water into the container to place on the back of the neck to soothe a tension headache or to ice sore muscles. However, it is important never to place them in the freezer because the expanding water can cause cracks in the lining. If you want it to be as cold as you can get it, use water that is cooled in ice before pouring it into the bottle.

Sources